Dec. 5, 2022 Board Report

6 Dec

To watch the full board meeting discussion of the below items, please click the “watch recording” link next to each item. The links will take you to the start of each of the below agenda items/topics from the board meeting recording.

Franklin Elementary kindergarten teacher Amy Phillips, right, is recognized at the Monday, Dec. 5 Marshalltown School Board meeting after being named a finalist for the Iowa Teacher of the Year Award. Also pictured is Franklin Principal Tim Holmgren.

Franklin Elementary teacher recognized as one of five Iowa Teacher of the Year finalists – watch recording 
Franklin Elementary kindergarten teacher Amy Phillips was among the five finalists for this year’s Iowa Teacher of the Year Award, and she was recognized for her accomplishment at Monday’s board meeting.

Franklin Principal Tim Holmgren, who nominated Phillips for the award last spring, called the 31-year educator “one of Marshalltown’s finest.” Phillips said she received great support and feedback from her fellow Franklin staff members during the process of being named a finalist.

“I am the teacher I am because of the people I work with,” she said.

Superintendent Dr. Theron Schutte emphasized the magnitude of Phillips’ accomplishment.

“It is a huge honor just to be among the top five in the state,” he said. “We’re really proud and happy that you’re with us at the Marshalltown Community School District.”

Board approves purchase and installation of vape detectors – watch recording
Vape detecting technology is coming to four school buildings after board action on Monday. The board approved the purchase and installation of vape detectors at Lenihan Intermediate School, Miller Middle School, Marshalltown High School, and Marshalltown Learning Academy using ESSER funds.

Dr. William Flemming speaks at Monday’s board meeting.

Schools across the country are working to find ways to address vaping at school, and these sensors are intended to help limit and stop vaping within MCSD schools. Student health and safety is MCSD’s top priority.

UNI Center for Violence Prevention donation will support research on the impact of Mentors in Violence Prevention at MHS – watch recording
Research and data collection on the impact of Marshalltown High School’s Mentors in Violence Prevention (MVP) program got a boost on Monday evening, when UNI Center for Violence Prevention’s Dr. William Flemming presented a $1,500 donation to support that research. 

MVP offers MHS upperclassmen the opportunity to mentor and guide their younger peers who are just starting to navigate high school. The program aims to help students build healthy connections and find appropriate, effective ways to overcome challenges.

Board hears Lenihan Intermediate School update – watch recording
Lenihan Intermediate School Principal Kyle Young, Associate Principal Dr. Liz Jurgensen, Instructional Coach Tonya Gaffney, computer science teacher Amanda Miller, and classroom teacher Lindsay Stanton presented an update on the programs and initiatives at their building.

Specifically, the group touched on the foundational skills they focus on with students, the ways students use computer coding, and the exciting new opportunities brought by the cutting-edge Lü multimedia virtual reality platform.

Pictured, from left: Dr. Liz Jurgensen, Amanda Miller, Lindsay Stanton, Tonya Gaffney, and Kyle Young of Lenihan Intermediate School present an update from their building on Monday.

Student School Board Representatives’ report – watch recording
Student School Board Representative Jaxson Eisenbarth and Yessenia Alvarez Zamora shared an update on student activities and events on Monday evening. See the recording above for the full presentation!

MHS early graduates list, course guide updates approved – watch recording 
A list of MHS and Marshalltown Learning Academy seniors set to graduate at mid-year, as well as three MHS juniors set to graduate one year early, gained board approval on Monday. The early graduates include: 

  • Seniors: Guadalupe Avalos Andrade, Eric Banderas, Kierstin Box, Franklin Calderon, Adrian Cervantes, Christopher Chavarria, Alan Diaz Avalos, Brandon Gallardo, Alondra Gonzalez, Enrique Gomez Sanchez, Kristyn Hays, Maria Hernandez, Alyson Ibarra, Kyanni Jones, Marisol Morales, Sky Minjarez, Nalley Nunez, Brayan Suarez Orellana, Cristofer Ortiz Romero, Regina Papa, Jesse Pereznegron, Elian Cristhofer Perdoma Lopez, Valerie Sanchez Torres, Isela Sandoval, Lauren Wall, Arlette Yepez, Jose Aguilar, and Brooklyn Wenner
  • Juniors: Salvador Villagomez, Carson Weatherly, Emily Andrade Zepeda

Additionally, the board approved of changes to the current school year’s MHS course guide. The changes include information about withdrawal dates for Marshalltown Community College classes, which are offered to high school students as dual credit opportunities.

Communications Director Adam Sodders reviewed the good news from the District by sharing newspaper articles as well as school communications articles. That list can be seen here.

Personnel items
For a list of personnel items approved on Monday, click here.

Initial Review – 

  • 502.6 Weapons (amended, second reading waived)
  • 507.5 Emergency Plans and Drills (adopted, second reading waived)
  • 804.2 District Emergency Operations Plans (adopted, second reading waived)

First Reading – 

  • 502.7 Smoking, Drinking, Drugs (marked as reviewed)
  • 502.8 Search and Seizure (marked as reviewed)
  • 502.8-R Search and Seizure (will come back for a first reading)
  • 502.8-E1 Search and Seizure Checklist (marked as reviewed)
  • 706.2 Payroll Deductions (will come back for a first reading)
  • 907 District Operations During Public Health Emergency (marked as reviewed)

The next Marshalltown School Board meeting is set for 5 p.m. on Monday, Dec. 19, 2022 at the District Administration Office, 1002 S. 3rd Ave. The meeting will be available to watch via live stream through the MCSD website, Facebook, and Twitter pages.

%d bloggers like this: