May 16, 2023 Board Report

17 May
Yessenia Alvarez Zamora, Abraham Madrigal Farias, and Jaxson Eisenbarth were all recognized for their service as student board representatives on Tuesday.

To watch the full board meeting discussion of the below items, please click the “watch recording” link next to each item. The links will take you to the start of each of the below agenda items/topics from the board meeting recording.

Listed Class of 2023 Marshalltown High School Graduates Receives Approval (watch recording) – MHS Principal Jacque Wyant received approval of the MHS 2023 list of graduates as presented, pending fulfillment of graduation requirements. A total of 376 students, including those who have already been board approved and foreign exchange students, are on the list to graduate on Sunday, May 28. Click here to see the full list of soon to be graduates.

Computer Science is Elementary Presentation (watch recording) – Kyle Young, Lindsay Stanton, and Erica Finders presented the computer science instruction that is happening at Lenihan and how that fits into the district wide work in this area. Click here to see their presentation.

Lenihan Principal Kyle Young speaking to the school board about the impact of computer science instruction.

Recognitions (watch recording)

  • Penny War: Hoglan Elementary School had its “Penny War” fundraiser, which lasted from May 1 to May 5. Every grade competed to see how many pennies, which were considered positive points, they could collect. Students used their point reducing “silver”, other coins and spare dollar bills, on their opponents’ collection containers. All of the funds were to support the K-9 units for the Marshalltown Police Department and the Marshall County Sheriff’s Office. Click here to read more about the fundraiser.
  • Third Quarter Employee Recognitions: Third quarter Employee of the Quarter awards were recently given. The following employees received awards: Jaime Vergara from Marshalltown Learning Academy, Molly Tafta from Hoglan Elementary School, Diane Simpson from Lenihan Intermediate School, and Yumi Clark and Marshalltown High School. Click here to see photos of the recipients.
  • Student School Board Representatives: Yessenia Alvarez Zamora, Natalie Andrade, Jaxson Eisenbarth and Abraham Madrigal Farias will be recognized for their service.

Personnel Items

For a list of personnel items approved on Monday, click here.

Student School Board Representative Update (watch recording) – Representative Yessenia Alvarez Zamora, Jaxson Eisenbarth, and Abraham Madrigal Farias updated the board on MHS happenings. 

Policies (watch recording) – click here to read the first reading policies and here to see what policies had initial review.

The next Marshalltown School Board meeting is set for 5 p.m. on Monday, June 5, 2023 at the District Administration Office, 1002 S. 3rd Ave. The meeting will be available to watch via live stream through the “MCSD Presentation” Youtube channel.

%d bloggers like this: